Nigeria is by far the most populated country in Africa

After years of military dictatorship, the country is working on democratisation and economic development. It is currently home to 185 million people. 514 different languages and idioms are spoken here, with English being the official and most widespread language. Approximately 48 percent of the population live in urban areas. Life expectancy is 51.3 years for men and 51.7 years for women.

Targeted reforestation

1 Million Trees

Overall, Nigeria has lost around 84 percent of its original forest areas and approximately 90 percent of its moist forest areas over the years. Today, only around 12 percent of the country’s total surface area is covered by woodlands. Since trees are one of the most important pillars in the ecosystem, targeted reforestation is urgently required. And this is exactly where the project “Trees for Peace” comes in.

In 2008, the Nigerian government provided Association Bernadette Strebel World Peace with 400 ha of land under contractual agreement to plant 1 million Trees for Peace. These trees support reforestation and enhance soil quality while also ensuring a financial foundation for other projects.

Nigeria ist der bevölkerungsreichste Staat Afrikas

Nigeria ist mit Abstand das bevölkerungsreichste Land Afrikas und arbeitet nach Jahren der Militärdiktatur an seiner Demokratisierung und wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung. Die Einwohnerzahl beträgt 185 Millionen. Es werden 514 verschiedene Sprachen und Idiome gesprochen, am verbreitetsten ist die Amtssprache Englisch. Etwa 48 Prozent der Bevölkerung lebt in städtischen Gebieten. Die Lebenserwartung beträgt 51,3 Jahre bei den Männern und 51,7 Jahre bei den Frauen.

gezielte Aufforstung

1 Million Bäume

Insgesamt hat Nigeria im Laufe der Zeit etwa 84 Prozent seiner ursprünglichen Waldfläche und ungefähr 90 Prozent seiner Feuchtwaldgebiete verloren. Nur noch etwa 12 Prozent der gesamten Landesfläche sind heute von Wald bedeckt. Da Bäume zu den wichtigsten Säulen im Ökosystem gehören, ist eine gezielte Aufforstung dringend notwendig. Genau hier setzt das Projekt „Trees for Peace“ seinen Schwerpunkt.

Die nigerianische Regierung hat der Association Bernadette Strebel World Peace im Jahr 2008 vertraglich geregelt 400 ha Land für 1 Million Friedensbäume zur Verfügung gestellt, welche der Wiederaufforstung und Nutzbarmachung des Bodens dienen und die finanzielle Basis für weitere Projekte gewährleisten.