Plant a Tree

Donate now

Trees for Peace

Trees are one of the most important pillars of the ecosystem. They clean the air and produce the oxygen we breathe in. Forests give life and make things flourish. Consequently, the population has access to more water, more fruit, more firewood, more construction material and more food for animals. Planting trees creates local jobs, generates local income and helps to produce local food. Thanks to the broad and diverse range of associated projects, the impact of the ‘Trees for Peace’ initiative can simultaneously be felt on several relevant levels.

OPEPE-BILINGA (Nauclea diderrichii)

GMELINA (Arborea gmelina)

TEAK (Tectona grandis)

Since the wood from this tree is stronger than beech or oak, it is used as building material. Its properties are on a par with medium-heavy or heavy wood.

This tree is extremely useful for paper production and processing. This undemanding tree grows quickly and can reach a height of up to 18 m, and that in virtually any climate or soil condition.

This hardwood tree is one of the primary, and technically most important tropical types of wood imported by Western countries. Our ‘Trees for Peace’ teak trees are intended for local use.

MORINGA (Moringa Oleifera)

This tree from the Himalaya region is referred to as the ‘Tree of Life’ or the ‘miracle tree’. Food supplements and animal feed can be produced from its leaves, while its seeds are a source for edible oil. They are also used for water treatment, and in the shadow of its crown, the social life of the communities is thriving. Moringa has become a trend product in recent times, also making it suitable for export. The Moringa tree grows 3 metres a year, and its diversity makes it a perfect choice for self-help projects.

Approach

Our affiliated NGO in Nigeria, African Initiative for World Peace (AIFWP), employs local workers to plant and look after the trees. This way, we create secure jobs while promoting their sense of responsibility. The AIFWP employees prepare the land, tend to the trees, and continuously protect the saplings from weed overgrowth. Income is used to pay the wages, and support our other projects.

Pflanzen Sie einen Baum

 Jetzt

spenden

Trees for Peace

Bäume gehören zu den wichtigsten Säulen im Ökosystem. Sie reinigen die Luft und geben Sauerstoff ab, den wir Menschen einatmen. Dank dem Wald gedeiht mehr Leben und in der Folge stehen für die Bevölkerung mehr Wasser, Früchte, Brennholz, Baumaterial und Tierfutter zur Verfügung. Durch das Pflanzen der Bäume werden Arbeitsplätze geschaffen, Einkommensquellen generiert und Nahrungsmittel vor Ort erzeugt.

Die «Trees for Peace»-Initiative wirkt durch ihre breit gefächerte Palette an Projekten auf mehreren relevanten Ebenen gleichzeitig.

OPEPE-BILINGA (Nauclea diderrichii)

GMELINA (Arborea gmelina)

TEAK (Tectona grandis)

OPEPE-BILINGA (Nauclea diderrichii)

Mit seinen Festigkeitseigenschaften, die etwas über denen von Buche und Eiche liegen, wird der Opepe als Bauholz verwendet. Er ist von einer Beschaffenheit, die dem mittelschweren bis schweren Holz entspricht.

In der Papierverarbeitung ist dieser Baum sehr dienlich. Er wächst schnell und erreicht eine Höhe von bis zu 18 m. Bezüglich Klima und Boden ist er völlig anspruchslos .

Zu den ersten und technisch wichtigsten tropischen Importhölzern zählt dieser  Hartholz-Baum. Unsere «Trees for Peace»-Teakbäume sind für den Eigenverbrauch bestimmt.

MORINGA (Moringa Oleifera)

Baum des Lebens oder Wunderbaum wird der Baum aus dem Himalaya genannt. Aus seinen Blättern gewinnt man Nahrungsergänzungsmittel und Tierfutter, aus seinen Samen Öl. Diese werden auch zur Wasseraufbereitung verwendet und im Schatten seiner Krone gedeiht das soziale Leben der Gemeinden. In jüngster Zeit ist Moringa  zu einem Trendprodukt geworden und  eignet sich also für den Export. Der Moringabaum wächst 3 Meter im Jahr und ist dank seiner Vielfalt ideal für Selbsthilfeprojekte.

Vorgehen

Die mit uns affiliierte NGO in Nigeria, African Initiative for World Peace (AIFWP), stellt ortsansässige Arbeiter an, um die Bäume zu pflanzen und zu pflegen. So schaffen wir sichere Arbeitsstellen und fördern deren Sinn für Verantwortung. Die Arbeiter der AIFWP bereiten das Land vor versorgen die Bäume und schützen laufend die Bäumchen vor Überwucherung durch Unkraut. Aus den Erträgen sollen in naher Zukunft die Löhne bezahlt und unsere weiteren Projekte unterstützt werden.